Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Need some guidance ..

10 posts in this topic

I have been searching around these boards a lot and I have found a ton of great information... thank you to all members!

I do however have some questions that I would appreciate some help with.

I am an aspiring firefighter. I live in White Plains and I am currently sitting in a decent spot on the White Plains FD list. I truly want this job more than anything and I am willing to do anything to increase my chances of getting hired. That is where I need some help. What can I do now to help my chances?

Just to give some background, I already have a college degree in finance and economics and I have been thinking about going back to school for an associates in Fire Science or something related (if I can afford it). I am currently signed up to take an upcoming CFR class. I have been training everyday, running, lifting, and eating right. I have been reading anything I can get my hands on related to firefighting, including books, articles, these boards, etc.

I have spoken to a bunch of people regarding going back to school for Fire Science. Some have said that it would be a great idea and help my chances greatly. Others have said that I should wait until after (if) I get the job because it wouldn’t help me get the job, but it would help me move up the ranks over time once I’m on the job. Some have also said it would be a lot of money and time devoted to obtaining a job that is not guaranteed that I will get. That being said, I personally am still willing to devote that time and money (if I can afford it) if I know that it will help me.