Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Ex MVFD Capt. John H. Maeder and a mafia mystery?

12 posts in this topic

I am a college student doing research, and am hoping someone can help me. I need info on John H. Maeder, who was a Captain with the Westchester Volunteer Fire Dept., Engine 5. He had a sister named Marie, and his father was reported to be a doctor. John Maeder lived most of his life in Mount Vernon, on Magnolia Avenue. He moved to Florida in1969, and died there in 1970. His body was flown back to New York, and he was buried in Kensico Cemetery. I am trying to find out any info that anyone may have on this individual. Your groups info was forwarded to me by someone reading a posting I did to the Mount Vernon Fire Department. I hope I am not breaking any board rules here, I just figured since Mr. Maeder was a fireman, someone visiting this site might be able to help me. Thank you so much.

Is this possibly the same guy??????:

Sponsored by 

The house of mystery

By Nancy Imperiale

Sentinel Staff Writer

June 28, 2004

NEW SMYRNA BEACH -- Marcia Pratt had no idea what was looming behind her.

The tourist from Alpharetta, Ga., spent one recent lazy afternoon reclining on a beach chair facing the Atlantic Ocean, feeling satisfied and a little sad that she was about to finish Nicholas Sparks' The Wedding.

She had no clue that behind her hulked a mysterious beach house with a history as spellbinding as any summer novel.

They call it the Mafia House, and it's an urban legend with walls. For more than a quarter of a century the house at 5205 S. Atlantic Ave. -- a taffy-colored stack of boxes about as architecturally impressive as a toddler's first Lego tower -- has been a source of outlandish rumors with everything from ghosts to gangsters tossed into the tale.

Most call it the Mafia House without knowing why.