Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
traumajunky

Tactical Medics... LEO's/ Not?

17 posts in this topic

I have done some research on tactical medics around the country and wanted to know what others thought of them being sworn LEO's or not.

Why do you think they should/ shouldn't be, and what should their scope of practice include in their roles as such...

Thanks for your thoughts in advance.

What ever works for the local teams. I've been a tactical paramedic since 1990 for both a multi jurisdictional county team and a unit within the State Police. We train with both teams on a regular basis and dress in the same fashion as the team, with level III armor. Both teams are unarmed as far as the medics go. Nevertheless with are very familar with all the weapons, basicall to render them safe should an officer go down. We do shoot at the range and I as well as the medics all feel alittle odd when we shot better then the armed weapons.

Like I said it all depends on what works for the local departments.

This is one of the top debates within the Tactical EMS community, and there are a few good arguements made on both sides as to which provider, a civilian EMT/Medic or a sworn Law Enforcement Officer, is better utilized to function as a TEMS provider. Each methodology has it's own pros and cons, and as NJMedic stated, it generally comes down to the individual team studying both options and going with the concept that is going to work for them. I'll try to give you some of the pros and cons of each concept.

Civilian EMS Providers as TEMS Providers