Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
x635

In Memory Of Lt. Thomas Salvatore, Empress EMS 301

4 posts in this topic

As I refelect back on what's happened in Novembers past, I always remember "Tommy Sal". It's been almost 12 years since his passing, on November 26th 1999, almost 12 years ago this Saturday. (Where has the time gone?)

Tommy was a street Paramedic Supervisor for Empress EMS. I worked with him during the early years of my EMS career, back when I was an EMT and EMT-I. Tommy was alway laid back, friendly, approachable, and a great teacher. We did some calls I remember to this day, including my first esophogial verices call at the old B. Dalton in Yonkers, and cardiac arrest with extensive GI bleed in Mount Vernon. I remeber his love for his Supervisor's Tahoe, no matter how much it gave him problems! He always had a great spirit despite the valiant battle with Lupus and the health problems it caused him.

I remember the last time I saw Tommy, it was on a ventilator at Sound Shore Medical Center's ICU where I visited as often as I could (often would sneak over a few times during my MV-A1 shifts or when I was off), and then at the funeral home across the street from city center.

Tommy died of complications from Lupus disease. His death was a tremendous loss for the Empress EMS family, his own family, fiance, and friends, not to mention the EMS community as a whole.

There's a whole new generation at Empress EMS now who probaly have a whole new set of supervisors. I come from when the old Empress was ending, and the "new" Empress was beginning to emerge. I remember "306 on the back", but there was nothing like hearing "301" on the air. (300 too, lol) I reflect on a lot of the EMS lessons he taught me, and to this day remember the wide variety of calls we did together.