Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
INIT915

"EMS in Critical Condition"

27 posts in this topic

http://timesunion.com/AspStories/story.asp?storyID=718445

As Brenda Wood was driving home after undergoing radiation treatment for breast cancer, her pager rang. Someone had called 911, so Wood, a Rensselaerville Volunteer Ambulance Service EMT, answered the emergency call, because if she didn't, who would?

"It's kind of pathetic that we had to rely on her that bad, but that's how it works," said her son Brian, the Albany County Sheriff's Department EMS unit coordinator.

You know -- it's articles just like this that really make me gripe. I actually (this past week) just moved to the Albany area. I contacted numerous volunteer agencies in my area (pretty much all split daytime paid/night time volunteer). Due to work, i'm only going to be in the area until February. With that being said, I was met with red tape everywhere I tried to volunteer. I've been an EMT for 4 years and an ambulance driver for 5 years... so it's not like I'm straight out of EMT class. Each dept I spoke with told me that it's not worth their time to train me since I won't be in the area that long.

Makes me laugh seeing a 3 page article was written about how they're short staffed... They say they're short staffed, but are they? Or are they being too picky.

No one needs to look any farther then right here in Westchester County to see how unreliable, undependable and unwilling to change EMS is around here!

One needs only a scanner to listen to the multiple page outs, Mutual Aid requests and calls "saved by the Medic riding" there are every day - specifically in northern Westchester County.

It's a shame, because there are people around who can do the calls but choose not to.