Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TCD0415

Trailer Fires

35 posts in this topic

Reading the unfortunate news from The Secret List about the Double LODD in Virginia in a Trailer Fire, got me thinking.

I have heard of a few instances of guys getting hurt or killed in Trailer Fires and was wondering if there is sometning more to it. I personally have never been in one, but do have a few around here and the possibility is there that one day we may get one.

Any perspectives on how to attack?, what to look out for ? Why guys are getting hurt ? It seems pretty easy to me, but I guess there is more to it.

I have limited experience with them, as my old district was zoned to outlaw trailer homes, however, I had been to a few mutual aid trailer fires.

My current department has many, both in parks and scattered around town.

My experience is that like a house - no two are alike, and the all burn very differently. I have made interioir attacks in trailers just as I would in a traditional home, and have seen some, like the one behind my house, that was going stem to stern in minutes.

Like any other fire, it is very important to do your personal size up, eyeball the fire conditions, read the smoke, look for your exits...

Be cautious of the roof! it is typically one long sheet of aluminum - which if collapses - easily can trap you...like being under a huge blanket that you can't punch through.

like 129 said trailer fires are some of the most dangerous fires for fire fighters. The trailers are made with light weight matierials and it is made as cheaply and as fast as possible with safety not in mind. with the trailer fires i have been at by the time the trucks got there the fire was already past the aggressive attack stage. with exposure to fire the floors become weak and like 129 said the roofs become death traps.